Small-scale solar electrical programme, South Africa – CPA-002
GS-4074 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11996
#16of 59 in South Africa#879of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)#16of 44 in AMS-I.F
Audit Analysis
A 77 MWp small-scale solar PV programme in South Africa under Gold Standard with a jurisdictional baseline (ASB0040-2018) and smart-meter monitoring. The project is under-delivering relative to its PDD estimates (approximately 67% of expected generation), which is conservative, but the record is undermined by ten cross-document contradictions on key parameters (additionality verification, baseline method, FPIC, ERR figures) and a low extraction confidence rating. No reversal events or grievances are reported, and double-counting is explicitly excluded.
Red Flags
- Ten contradictions across documents on critical parameters including additionality VVB verification, baseline method (jurisdictional vs project-specific), FPIC status, and ERR figures, indicating significant data reliability concerns
- Four meters in VPA-003 exceeded calibration validity during part of the monitoring period, and the verification body had to perform conservative adjustments
- min_extraction_confidence is rated 'low', meaning at least one key document was poorly readable, reducing confidence in the extracted record
- CORSIA eligibility and CCP status are not stated in any available document, leaving dual-channel risk unassessed
- Crediting period end date is null in the 2026 verification report, creating uncertainty about the project's remaining crediting window
Credit Vintages Exhausted
| Issued | Retired | Available | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2020 | 878 | 878 | 0 | |
| 2021 | 18,433 | 18,433 | 0 | |
| 2022 | 17,029 | 17,029 | 0 | |
| 2023 | 12,569 | 12,569 | 0 | |
| 2024 | 11,282 | 11,282 | 0 | |
| Total | 60,191 | 60,191 | 0 |
Risk Indicators
Investment test present but VVB confirmation contradicted across documents
Solar PV – no inherent reversal risk; no reversal events reported
0% deduction, deemed negligible – reasonable for grid-displacing solar PV
Jurisdictional (ASB0040-2018) but method contradicted in 2024 report; grid EF from 2018
Grievance mechanism present, zero grievances; FPIC status contradicted between validation reports
CORSIA and CCP status not stated; CDM-registered but not claiming CDM credits
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →