Small-scale solar electrical programme, South Africa – CPA-003
GS-4116 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11998
#23of 59 in South Africa#982of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)#18of 44 in AMS-I.F
Audit Analysis
A 77 MWp solar PV programme in South Africa with a jurisdictional grid-emission-factor baseline and no reversal events, but the project record is undermined by eleven cross-document contradictions in key fields (additionality verification, baseline method, FPIC status, ERR figures, crediting period), a low extraction-confidence rating, and material findings including overdue meter calibrations. The project is underperforming relative to its own estimates, which is conservative for claim safety, yet the verified cumulative reductions (~264 ktCO₂e) run at roughly 230 % of the pro-rata ex-ante expectation, raising questions about the robustness of the original estimates.
Red Flags
- Eleven contradictions across documents in critical fields including additionality VVB verification (false in 2024 verification vs true in 2025 validation), baseline method (jurisdictional vs project-specific), FPIC status (false vs true), and ERR figures (41,222 vs 60,017 vs 96,373 vs 263,846 tCO₂e)
- Four electricity meters in VPA-003 exceeded their calibration validity during part of the monitoring period, undermining MRV reliability for that sub-project
- Extraction confidence rated 'low', indicating at least one key document was poorly readable, reducing confidence in the extracted data
- CORSIA eligibility and CCP status are not stated in any available document, leaving dual-channel risk unassessed
- Crediting period end date is missing in the 2026 verification report ('2020-12-16 — null') while the 2025 validation report states '2025-12-16 — 2030-12-15', creating uncertainty about the project's temporal scope
Credit Vintages Exhausted
| Issued | Retired | Available | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2020 | 777 | 777 | 0 | |
| 2021 | 12,740 | 12,740 | 0 | |
| 2022 | 11,308 | 11,308 | 0 | |
| 2023 | 10,788 | 10,788 | 0 | |
| 2024 | 9,212 | 9,212 | 0 | |
| Total | 44,825 | 44,825 | 0 |
Risk Indicators
Investment test present but VVB verification contradicted across reports
Avoidance-type solar PV; no reversal events reported
0 % deduction with 'deemed negligible' justification; appropriate for solar PV
Jurisdictional (2026) but contradicted by 2024 report; grid EF from 2018
Grievance mechanism present; FPIC status contradicted (conducted vs not)
CORSIA and CCP status not stated in any available document
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →