Skip to main content
GSOtherSouth AfricaAMS-I.F

Small-scale solar electrical programme, South Africa – CPA-004

GS-4115 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11999

#24of 59 in South Africa#983of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)#19of 44 in AMS-I.F

4.9/ 10
Integrity
5.5
Transparency
4.5
Claim Safety
5.0
Documentation
4.0

Audit Analysis

A 77 MWp small-scale solar programme in South Africa verified under Gold Standard with a recognised methodology (AMS-I.F.) and a jurisdictional baseline, but the project record is severely undermined by 14 cross-document contradictions on core parameters (additionality status, baseline method, ERR totals, FPIC, crediting period) and a low extraction confidence rating. The project is underperforming relative to ex-ante estimates (one VPA at one-third of expected output), and key permanence and double-claiming data are absent.

Red Flags

  • 14 contradictions across documents on core parameters including additionality verification status, baseline method, ERR totals, FPIC, and crediting period — the 2026 verification report and 2024 verification report directly disagree on whether additionality was VVB-verified and on the baseline method (jurisdictional vs project-specific)
  • Six different ERR totals appear across documents (96,371 / 96,373 / 110,851 / 164,511 / 219,407 / 263,846 / 383,313 tCO2e), making it impossible to confirm a single verified credit quantity without further clarification
  • VPA-015 actual generation is one-third of the estimated output (flagged as CAR 03 in the 2024 verification report), and the project overall reports lower-than-expected generation due to irradiation, grid outages, and equipment failures
  • CORSIA eligibility and CCP status are both not stated in any available document, leaving double-claiming risk unassessed
  • No buffer pool percentage, no permanence claim period, and no reversal-event data found in the extracted record

Credit Vintages Exhausted

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2021
5,3485,3480
2022
11,22111,2210
2023
11,60111,6010
2024
9,2499,2490
Total37,41937,4190

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed (2026) but contradicted by 2024 report

Permanence

mixed evidence / unresolved risk

Leakage

Deemed negligible, appropriate for grid-displacement solar

Baseline

Jurisdictional per 2026 VR but contradicted by 2024 VR; grid EF from 2018

Safeguards

Grievance mechanism present, 0 grievances; FPIC status contradicted

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status both not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-06AMS-I.F.: Renewable electricity generation for captive use and mini-grid

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents