Tuzla 7.5 MW Geothermal Power Plant
GS-593 ↗ · current registry ID: GS353
#989of 1935 in Renewable energy#192of 295 in Turkey#647of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)#318of 806 in AMS-I.D
Audit Analysis
The Tuzla 7.5 MW geothermal plant is a Gold Standard renewable electricity project with a VVB-confirmed investment additionality test and a jurisdictional baseline reassessed in 2024. However, significant data quality issues—including a 49% discrepancy in the grid emission factor between the validation and monitoring reports, contradictory ERR figures, and 24 corrective action requests during verification—undermine confidence in the reported reductions. The project delivered roughly 77% of the pro-rata ex-ante expectation for the two-year monitoring period, which is conservative but the underlying data inconsistencies warrant caution.
Red Flags
- Grid emission factor discrepancy: the 2024 validation report uses 0.4971 tCO₂/MWh (2022 value) while the 2024 monitoring report uses 0.7424 tCO₂/MWh—a 49% difference that directly inflates or deflates the claimed reductions depending on which value is applied.
- 24 corrective action requests were issued during the 2024 verification, including errors in the baseline emission factor calculation, NCG analysis frequency misaligned with methodology requirements, and a discrepancy in monthly electricity generation values between reading protocols and PMUM records.
- ERR figures are contradictory across documents: the 2024 validation report states 12,097 tCO₂e while the 2024 verification report states 18,682 tCO₂e for what appears to be the same reporting window.
- Minimum extraction confidence across the 19 source documents is rated low, indicating at least one key document was poorly readable or incomplete.
Credit Vintages
| Issued | Retired | Available | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2010 | 12,331 | 12,331 | 0 | |
| 2011 | 16,386 | 16,386 | 0 | |
| 2012 | 16,791 | 16,791 | 0 | |
| 2013 | 16,906 | 16,813 | 93 | |
| 2014 | 17,321 | 17,321 | 0 | |
| 2022 | 9,338 | 0 | 9,338 | |
| 2023 | 8,821 | 0 | 8,821 | |
| 2024 | 523 | 0 | 523 | |
| Total | 98,417 | 79,642 | 18,775 |
Risk Indicators
VVB-confirmed investment test
mixed evidence / unresolved risk
0% deduction, quantified justification but 2015 gap
Jurisdictional, reassessed 2024
Grievance & benefit sharing present, FPIC not stated
CORSIA and CCP status not stated
Where to buy
Marketplaces
+ Know where to buy this?
Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →