Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticUgandaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

Up Energy Improved Cookstoves Programme, Uganda – CPA No 014

GS-2901 ↗ · current registry ID: GS10912

#573of 1329 in Industrial#71of 163 in Uganda#889of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

5.0/ 10
Integrity
4.8
Transparency
5.5
Claim Safety
5.5
Documentation
3.8

Audit Analysis

The Up Energy Improved Cookstoves project in Uganda has a confirmed additionality assessment and a quantified 5% leakage deduction, but is undermined by a project-specific baseline, the absence of any stated buffer pool, and an unusually high volume of material findings and corrective actions across its verification and monitoring records. Twelve cross-document contradictions—spanning ERR figures, FNRB values, FPIC status, and crediting period length—raise meaningful questions about data reliability and internal consistency. The project delivered roughly 470% of the pro-rata ex-ante expectation for the elapsed monitoring window, which is conservative for claim safety but warrants scrutiny of the underlying assumptions.

Red Flags

  • No buffer pool percentage is stated in any available document, leaving reversal risk from stove replacement or abandonment unmitigated for an energy-efficiency project.
  • Twelve contradictions between documents, including a crediting-period discrepancy of 7 years (monitoring report, 2024) versus 5 years (validation report, 2025), and a FNRB value that shifted from 0.82 to 0.39 between successive verification reports.
  • FPIC status is contradictory: the 2023 verification report records it as not conducted, while the 2025 validation report records it as conducted—no reconciliation is provided.
  • Sixteen material findings and seventeen corrective actions are listed, covering survey-record discrepancies, calibration gaps, circular references in ex-ante ER values, and inconsistent crediting-period dates across VPAs.
  • CORSIA eligibility and CCP status are not stated in any available document, leaving dual-channel risk unassessed.

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2020
27,44613,72313,723
2021
34,21533,894321
2022
42,64041,789851
2023
41,501041,501
2024
35,598035,598
Total181,40089,40691,994

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed combined test

Permanence

no reversals yet

Leakage

5% quantified deduction

Baseline

Project-specific; reassessed 2024

Safeguards

FPIC contradictory; grievance mechanism present

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-06General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents