Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticUgandaAMS-II.G

Up Energy Improved Cookstoves Programme, Uganda – CPA No 032 supported by Republic of Korea

GS-3756 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11521

#936of 1329 in Industrial#117of 163 in Uganda#1364of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)#146of 189 in AMS-II.G

4.5/ 10
Integrity
4.5
Transparency
4.5
Claim Safety
4.0
Documentation
5.0

Audit Analysis

The Up Energy Improved Cookstoves project in Uganda has a VVB-verified combined additionality test and a quantified 5% leakage deduction, but is undermined by 15 material findings in the verification report (including thermal-efficiency inconsistencies and data-parameter discrepancies), a five-fold discrepancy between the verified ERR under the prior crediting period (600,815 tCO₂e) and the ex-ante lifetime estimate for the current period (113,098 tCO₂e), and a project-specific baseline. The project's safeguards framework (FPIC, grievance mechanism) is in place, but the MRV data-quality issues and unresolved contradictions in key parameters materially weaken confidence in the claimed credits.

Red Flags

  • Verified ERR of 600,815 tCO₂e for the 2022 monitoring period is roughly 27× the pro-rata expectation of ~22,620 tCO₂e derived from the 113,098 tCO₂e lifetime ex-ante estimate over the 5-year crediting period, indicating either a major under-estimation in the ex-ante baseline or an inflated verified figure
  • 15 material findings in the verification report, including inconsistent rated thermal efficiency values (CL 01), discrepancies in average thermal efficiency between the ER spreadsheet and WBT reports (CL 06), and data-parameter choices inconsistent with the VPA-DDs (CL 02–CL 04)
  • CORSIA eligibility and CCP status are not stated in any extracted document, leaving dual-channel risk unassessed
  • The monitoring period (Jan–Dec 2022) predates the current crediting period (Dec 2024–Dec 2029), meaning no verified monitoring data yet exists for the active crediting window

Credit Vintages Exhausted

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2021
27,88427,8840
Total27,88427,8840

Risk Indicators

Additionality

Combined test, VVB-confirmed

Permanence

reversal risk unaddressed

Leakage

5% quantified deduction

Baseline

Project-specific; reassessed 2024; ERR discrepancy across periods

Safeguards

FPIC, grievance mechanism, safeguards documented

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-07AMS-II.G

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents