Biomass Cogeneration Plant By SCOUL
#36of 352 in Biomass#16of 163 in Uganda#335of 1339 in Verra (VCS)#7of 81 in ACM0006
Audit Analysis
A VCS-registered biomass cogeneration project in Uganda with VVB-confirmed additionality and a first monitoring period delivering roughly 84% of the pro-rata lifetime expectation, indicating no over-crediting. However, a significant grid emission factor discrepancy between the PDD (0.55) and the verification report (0.137), a project-specific baseline, and a 0% leakage deduction with contradictory justifications introduce moderate integrity and claim-safety concerns. Documentation is reasonably complete but gaps in FPIC, feedstock sustainability, and carbon content testing limit confidence.
Red Flags
- Grid emission factor differs by a factor of four between the PDD (0.55, April 2022) and the verification report (0.137, May 2023); the basis for this change is not explained in the extracted record
- Leakage deduction is 0% yet the justification is described as 'quantified' in the verification report but 'deemed negligible' in the validation report — the two characterisations are inconsistent
- Free, Prior and Informed Consent (FPIC) was not conducted, despite the project operating in a community context in Uganda
- Feedstock sustainability criteria and carbon content testing are not stated in any available document, leaving the biomass supply chain unverified
Credit Vintages
No issuances recorded on the registry.
Risk Indicators
VVB-confirmed barrier test
Energy project – no storage risk
0% deduction, inconsistent justification
Project-specific, no reassessment date
Grievance present, FPIC not conducted
CORSIA and CCP status not stated
⚑ Dispute this rating
Are you the project owner?
Metadata correction (free)
Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.
Does not modify the score.
[email protected] →Pipeline re-run with new documents
Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.
Submit Documents →