Skip to main content
GSEnergy Efficiency - DomesticUgandaGeneral Methodologyv2.1

GS5658 VPA 34: “Access to energy for local development and resilience building in Uganda”

GS-3029 ↗ · current registry ID: GS11041

#711of 1329 in Industrial#87of 163 in Uganda#1063of 1801 in Gold Standard (GS)

4.8/ 10
Integrity
4.5
Transparency
5.5
Claim Safety
4.5
Documentation
5.0

Audit Analysis

This Gold Standard domestic energy-efficiency PoA (improved cookstoves in Uganda) has VVB-confirmed additionality and no reported reversals, but is undermined by a project-specific baseline, a 0% leakage deduction with inconsistent justification across documents, and a heavy load of 15 material findings and 14 corrective actions that point to systemic MRV quality issues. The verified ERR of 29,071 tCO₂e for the most recent monitoring period substantially exceeds the pro-rata share of the 37,697 tCO₂e lifetime ex-ante estimate, raising over-crediting concerns that are not fully resolved by the available documentation.

Red Flags

  • 15 material findings and 14 corrective actions in the 2025 verification report, including calculation errors, emission-factor inconsistencies, and crediting-period mismatches, indicate systemic MRV quality problems
  • Verified ERR of 29,071 tCO₂e for a single 1-year monitoring period is roughly 5× the pro-rata expectation (~5,730 tCO₂e) derived from the 37,697 tCO₂e lifetime ex-ante estimate over a ~6.6-year crediting period, suggesting possible over-crediting or a mis-specified ex-ante baseline
  • Leakage deduction of 0% is justified as 'deemed negligible' in the 2025 verification report, yet an earlier 2023 verification report described the leakage treatment as 'quantified'—the inconsistency is unresolved
  • No buffer pool percentage is stated in any available document, leaving permanence risk unmitigated despite the absence of reported reversals
  • CORSIA eligibility and CCP status are not stated in any extracted document, leaving dual-channel risk unassessed

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2021
4,1604,1600
2022
6,5666,5660
2023
6,8019745,827
2024
1,18901,189
Total18,71611,7007,016

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed but test type not stated

Permanence

mixed evidence / unresolved risk

Leakage

0% deduction, justification inconsistent across reports

Baseline

Project-specific, reassessment date not stated

Safeguards

Grievance mechanism confirmed 2025; FPIC not stated

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated in any document

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-09-04General Methodology v2.1

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents