Skip to main content
CarbonMeld CarbonMeld Carbon Observatory
Re-assessment pendingVCSAgriculture Forestry and Other Land UseKenyaRegistry: Verification overdue

TIST Program in Kenya, VCS 001

Developer: Clean Air Action Corporation

VCS-594 ↗

#271of 296 in Soil carbon#188of 192 in Kenya#1565of 1615 in Verra (VCS)

Score from methodology v2.1 (analysis of 10 Sep 2026). Re-assessment under v2.2 pending.

Assessment

CarbonMeld document-based assessment

01020304 Overall 3.6 / 10 Dimension scores are locked — the faint arcs are empty tracks, not zero scores.

Scale 0–10 · method weights: integrity 35% · transparency 25% · claim safety 25% · documentation 15%.

Re-assessment pending · v2.1

How this analysis was made

Methodology
AR-AMS0001 No methodology-specific rules: the general rules apply. Read the general rules
Our method
CarbonMeld methodology v2.1 · analysed on 10 Sep 2026 · 29/29 registry documents analyzed · re-assessment under v2.2 pending

Analysis

The TIST Kenya project experienced a severe permanence failure in its most recent monitoring period, with a net loss of 48,837 tCO2e from unauthorized harvesting of 168,169 trees across 12 project areas. The lifetime ex-ante estimate collapsed from approximately 1.7 million to 441,000 tCO2e between the 2016 and 2020 verification reports, and nearly 21% of carbon volumes were zeroed pending requantification. While additionality was properly verified and safeguards are in place, the project's current trajectory is one of carbon loss rather than sequestration.

Red Flags

5 red flags detected — Unlock with Premium

Findings

Risk Indicators

Additionality

🔒

Permanence

🔒

Leakage

🔒

Baseline

🔒

Safeguards

🔒

Double-claim

🔒

Risk indicator details are a Premium feature

Score Breakdown

Score factors per dimension are a Premium feature — Unlock with Premium

Gates applied

The gates applied to this score are a Premium feature — Unlock with Premium

Detailed Analysis

The detailed per-dimension analysis is a Premium feature — Unlock with Premium

Evidence

Unlock the full analysis

On this page: the analysis of 10 Sep 2026, marked “Re-assessment pending”. Per-dimension scores, risk indicators, 5 red flags, score factors, detailed analysis, and 29 registry documents (29 analyzed).

€9+ VAT per month · card subscription, renews automatically until you cancel

Every rated project, PDF reports, API access, portfolio alerts and per-dimension scores with red-flag details in side-by-side comparisons (public-data comparison is free; fair use: 30 projects per day). Cancel any time from your account page. Crypto: $9 for one month, no automatic renewal.

Price + VAT · By subscribing or paying you accept the Terms of Use — the card subscription renews every month until you cancel; digital content, no refunds. How Premium works

Eligibility & market

What can you claim with this credit?

Four checks buyers ask about, from the registry and the Integrity Council (ICVCM).

  • Airlines (CORSIA)

    No CORSIA label on the registry

    Not usable for airlines' CORSIA obligations.

    Source: registry label · read on 1 Nov 2026

    Covers: this project's credit records as read on the registry

  • Integrity label (ICVCM CCP)

    No ICVCM information

    No CCP label and no ICVCM decision found for this project's methodology.

  • Removal or reduction

    Carbon removal

    Takes CO₂ out of the atmosphere — the only type that can neutralise residual emissions in an SBTi net-zero claim.

    Source: project sector

    Covers: the project type, not a label on individual credits

  • Paris Agreement (Article 6)

    No Article 6 authorization

    No corresponding adjustment: the host country can also count this reduction towards its own target.

    Source: registry label · read on 1 Nov 2026

    Covers: this project's credit records as read on the registry

Information only, from public sources. Claim rules (CORSIA, SBTi, EU rules on green claims) change: check them before making a public claim. Since 27 September 2026, EU consumer rules do not allow “climate neutral” product claims based on offsets.

Registry labels last checked:2026-11-01

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2004
31,27531,22550
2011
30,62830,6280
Total61,90361,85350

Methodology versions used

The methodology version stated in each monitoring, verification and issuance document, by period, compared with the official methodology pages.

  1. 2004–2010AR-AMS0001 v5.0since replaced by v6.0

    monitoring report

    official page · verified on

  2. 2004–2010AR-AMS0001version not stated in the document

    verification report

  3. 2011–2015AR-AMS0001the documents for this period state different versions (v5.0, v6.0)

    monitoring report + verification report

  4. 2015–2020AR-AMS0001 v5.0since replaced by v6.0

    monitoring report + verification report

    official page · verified on

  5. Period not statedAR-AMS0001 v5.0since replaced by v6.0

    issuance document

    official page · verified on

  • AR-AMS0001: Withdrawn (CDM / UNFCCC) · replaced byAR-AMS0007 · official page · verified on

A version is shown only when the document's own text writes it next to the methodology code. Current versions, status and CCP ranges come from the official pages linked, checked on the date shown.

Documents on the registry

Retired by

Organisations named as beneficiaries in the registry's public retirement records.

Where to buy

Got an offer for these credits? Check it against the registry →

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

Profile & governance

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected] →

Contest this rating

Something wrong in the analysis, or a registry document we have not used? Send us the link to the public source: you get a reference and an answer within 30 days.

Contest this rating →

Similar projects

Same methodology or sector, the same registry first.