Skip to main content
CDMBiomass EnergyIndiaAMS-I.D

Biomass based power generation project in Maharashtra, India

CDM-4078 ↗

#72of 352 in Biomass#468of 975 in India#655of 1459 in CDM (UNFCCC)#304of 806 in AMS-I.D

5.2/ 10
Integrity
5.5
Transparency
5.0
Claim Safety
4.5
Documentation
6.0

Audit Analysis

A CDM biomass power-generation project in Maharashtra with VVB-confirmed additionality and a reasonable leakage justification, but undermined by a baseline-method contradiction across monitoring reports, a grid emission factor frozen at a 2008 value, and verified emissions reductions that cover only about one-third of the pro-rata expectation for the elapsed crediting period. Feedstock sustainability and carbon-content data are absent from the extracted record, and a corrective action was required to add missing specific-fuel-consumption data to the PDD.

Red Flags

  • Verified ERR of 44,626 for the 2018–2020 monitoring period is only ~33% of the pro-rata expectation (~136,857) derived from the PDD's lifetime claim of 497,660 over the 10-year crediting period, indicating significant under-delivery.
  • Baseline method is described as 'project' in the 2021 monitoring report but 'jurisdictional' in the 2012 monitoring report — an unresolved inconsistency that undermines confidence in the baseline calculation.
  • Grid emission factor of 0.805 tCO₂/MWh is anchored to 2008 data; no updated or sensitivity analysis is found in the extracted documents.
  • Feedstock sustainability and carbon-content testing are not stated in any available document, leaving the renewable-biomass claim for bamboo dust and D-cake unverified.
  • A corrective action was required to update the PDD with specific fuel consumption values for bamboo dust and D-cake, indicating the original project design document was incomplete.

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2012
10,346010,346
2015
186,0930186,093
2016
34,331034,331
2017
36,024036,024
2019
31,239031,239
2022
54,113054,113
Total352,1460352,146

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed investment test

Permanence

Avoidance project, no reversal events

Leakage

0% deemed negligible, justified

Baseline

Method contradicts across reports; grid EF from 2008

Safeguards

Safeguards mentioned but FPIC and grievance not documented

Double-claim

CORSIA and CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-08-26AMS-I.D.

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents