Skip to main content
VCSEnergy demandMadagascar Registry: RegisteredVMR0006

Madagascar Fahatokiana Improved Cookstove Program

VCS-3239 ↗

#19of 91 in Cookstoves#1of 6 in Madagascar#206of 857 in Verra (VCS)#18of 43 in VMR0006

5.8/ 10
Integrity
5.5
Transparency
6.5
Claim Safety
5.5
Documentation
5.8

Audit Analysis

The Madagascar Fahatokiana cookstove project is a registered VCS energy-demand project with VVB-confirmed additionality, no material findings, and a 5% leakage deduction. However, the project-specific baseline, absence of a stated buffer pool, inconsistent leakage justification across documents, and a shift in FNRB methodology from local field to national default introduce moderate integrity and claim-safety concerns. The project over-delivered relative to its pro-rata expectation, and CORSIA ineligibility is confirmed, but CCP status remains unverified.

Red Flags

  • Leakage justification is contradictory: the monitoring report (May 2025) describes it as quantified, while the later verification report (July 2025) states it was not addressed, despite a 5% deduction being applied
  • FNRB methodology shifted from local field measurement (validation report, Oct 2023) to national default (monitoring report, May 2025) without a clear documented rationale in the extracted record
  • No buffer pool percentage is stated in any available document, leaving permanence risk for cookstove avoidance credits unquantified
  • Additionality test type is not specified in any document, even though the VVB confirmed additionality
  • CCP status is not stated in any available document, leaving dual-channel risk unassessed

Credit Vintages

IssuedRetiredAvailable
2022
28,949028,949
2023
79,142079,142
2024
54,053054,053
Total162,1440162,144

Risk Indicators

Additionality

VVB-confirmed but test type unspecified

Permanence

No reversal events but no buffer pool stated

Leakage

5% deduction applied but justification contradicted

Baseline

Project-specific baseline, reassessment not yet due

Safeguards

FPIC and grievance confirmed in latest report but contradict

Double-claim

CORSIA not eligible; CCP status not stated

Where to buy

+ Know where to buy this?

Listing multiple projects? Send us a CSV at [email protected].

⚑ Dispute this rating
Analysis ProvenanceScored2026-08-27VMR0006

Are you the project owner?

Metadata correction (free)

Name, country, marketplace or links incorrect? Let us know.

Does not modify the score.

[email protected]

Pipeline re-run with new documents

Have updated documentation not yet included? You can request a new run of the pipeline with the new inputs.

Submit Documents